history

the church 1904

FUMC Warrensburg 1904

 

  • The First United Methodist Church of Warrensburg actually was the first church in Warrensburg and dates back to the beginning of Warrensburg itself in 1796.  Josiah and Issac Woodward, two of the original settlers in the area were the first class leaders.
  • In 1807 the first church building was erected on the site of the present church.  The land was given by Judge Kitchell Bishop.
  • In 1904 the present building was erected (see picture above).  The Somerville Memorial chapel was added at the rear of the building in the 1940’s.
  • The education wing was added at the rear in 1957.
  • The current parsonage was constructed on King Street in 1966.

As you can see we have a rich heritage dating back to the original circuit riders.    The building is listed on the national historical registry.

The congregation has maintained the building well through the years.  In 2017 we added a new side entrance and an elevator.